2013 in Review and 2014 Goals

I am obviously not great a posting very often on my blog. Oh well.

Honestly, life took over. Shortly after my last post, my husband started his new job as a choir teacher at a middle school. We spent much of our summer getting things ready for him to teach and studying our insurance options (Hooray!)

On the second week of the school year, my husband was in a car wreck on his way to work. This presented quite a few challenges for us for the rest of the year. The crash totaled our car and gave my husband some serious whiplash injuries – injuries he still struggles with from time to time. But, boy am I grateful it wasn’t any worse! We were forced into a car loan, but we are so fortunate to be able to afford car payments while still keeping our debt to income ratio pretty low. In hindsight, it was probably the only thing on our credit history that we didn’t have that would help us when purchasing our first home. Also, because of his injuries, my husband has been forced to take it easy and not overdo it at work. It was probably the only thing that would keep him from getting burned out as his first year as a teacher. Tender mercies.

Our little girl turned 2 in August. I always heard kids grew fast, I just didn’t realize how true that was until I had a child of my own! She loves princesses and Mickey Mouse. Her favorite game is Ring Around the Rosie and loves to have “The Gingerbread Man” read to her every night before bed.

ImageI participated in another Christmas season with the Sterling Singers and we did our performance in the Libby Gardner Hall at the University of Utah. We were also invited to sing with Jackie Evancho at the LDS Conference Center with the MuzArt World Foundation in November. I love being able to make music with other talented singers and I look forward to singing with them again this year. Rehearsal starts again in a few weeks and I can’t wait!

Overall, with all of its challenges, 2013 was a good year for us. We made it through our roughest spot financially (so far), and my husband was able to snag a job in his field of study within months of graduating. I am grateful I am still able to stay home with my daughter and learn and grow with her.

I can already tell 2014 will be a great year! Here are some things I hope to accomplish this year:

  • Establish a better habit of personal prayer and scripture study
  • Go to the temple once a month
  • Read more books
  • Buy our first home
  • Live a healthier lifestyle. (I could be cliche and say “lose 30 pounds,” but I don’t want to set myself up for failure. Living a more healthy lifestyle is a great place to start, I think.)
  • Date my husband (It is pretty pathetic how boring we have gotten)
  • Spend more time on Family History Work
  • Put the home to bed each night (leave it cleaner than I found it when I woke up…too high of a standard?)
  • Pay off at least one loan
  • Try my best at updating this blog on a more regular basis

Here’s to a great year!

Image

One thought on “2013 in Review and 2014 Goals

Leave a Reply

